Dhaka Tribune journo Ibrahim Hossain Ovi among DRU Best Reporting Award winners

Each individual winner was given Tk50,000 and a crest


DhakaTribuneTribune Desk Published at 06:12 PM November 26, 2017

Dhaka Reporters Unity (DRU) has handed over its annual “Best Reporting Award 2017” to 29 journalists from different media outlets under a total of 27 categories.

Of them, Ibrahim Hossain Ovi of the Dhaka Tribune won the award for his report on the RMG industry.

Information Minister Hasanul Haq Inu handed over the award at a ceremony at the DRU office in Dhaka on Sunday, according to a DRU press release.

The awardees from the print media also include Sakhawat Liton and Inam Ahmed of the Daily Star for their reports on foreign relations; Mehedi Hassan of the Nayadiganta on education; Mohammad Al-Masum Mollah and Helemul Alam, and Porimol Palma of the Daily Star on the Liberation War and urban development and health respectively; Rozina Islam and Masud Alam of the Prothom Alo on crime and sports respectively; Kazi Hafiz of the Kaler Kantho on parliament and elections; Azizur Rahman Ripon of the Financial Express on power and energy; Abu Saleh Rony of the Samakal on politics; Kawsar Rahman of the Janakantha on water and agriculture; M Mamun Hossain of the Manobkantha on history and heritage; Marium Sejuti of the Bhorer Kagoj on banking, and Shipon Habib of the Jugantor and Sajida Islam Parul of the Samakal jointly on women and children.

From the online media, Serajul Islam Siraj of banglanews.com was awarded in the human rights category, and from the electronic media, Farukh Ahmed Mehedi of Channel24 and and Badruddouza Babu of Maasranga TV received awardsin economy and urban development respectively.

Each individual winner was given Tk50,000 along with a crest, and those who jointly won the award were given TK25,000 each with a crest.

DRU President Sakhawat Hossain Badsha, General Secretary Mursalin Nomani, and jury board chairman Shahjahn Sarder were present at the event.