27 journalists get DRU-GP award

Staff Correspondent

Winners of the DRU-Grameenphone Reporting-2014 Award and guests at the award giving programme held at Sonargaon Hotel in the capital yesterday. Photo: Star

Twenty-seven reporters, including Porimol Palma of The Daily Star, have received the DRU-Grameenphone Reporting -2014 Award for their reports on 27 different issues this year.

Porimol won the award for his report on the importance of producing safe food through integrated pest management.

Julfikar Ali Manik of the daily Dhaka Tribune won for reporting on a corrupt nexus among politicians, administration officials and law enforcement agencies of Narayanganj.

Prothom Alo’s Rozina Islam won the award for revealing that the gold crest recognising foreign citizen’s contribution to the country’s independence hardly contains gold.

The other award winners from print media are: Selim Jahid and Fakhrul Islam of Prothom Alo; Abu Saleh and Rajib Noor of Samakal; Md Mamun Hossain of Jai Jai Din; Moniruzzamn Uzzal of Dhaka Tribune; Shah Muhammad Kaosar Rahman and Sumi Khan of Janakantha; Deepan Nandi of Bartaman; Md Hamidur Rahman Bhuiyan of Jugantor; Rahenur Islam of Kaler Kantha; and Mamun-Ur-Rashid and Taki Muhammad Zubaer of Inqilab.

Alauddin Ahmed and Najmul Hossain of Jamuna TV; Majumdar Babu of Channel 24; Raju Ahmed of GTV; Morsalin Babla of Channel I; Parvez Nadir Reza of Ekattor TV; and Shimul Bashar of Independent TV are the winners from electronic media.

The winners from online media are Kazi Jomshed Nazim and Abu Hanif Rana of report24.com and Rafiqul Islam of banglanews24.com. Shahnaz Sharmin of ABC Radio also won the award.

The awards were given at a programme at a hotel in the capital yesterday.

Information Minister Hasanul Haq Inu was present at the programme as chief guest and Dhaka University Vice Chancellor Prof AAMS Arefin Siddique as special guest.

Shahed Chowdhury and Elias Khan, president and general secretary respectively of Dhaka Reporters’ Unity (DRU), were also present at the event.